Posted by: Kara | August 25, 2009

Pottery Barn, Shmottery Barn

♫  And now I’m back, from outerspace…So I had to take a much needed hiatus from blogging and break my goal of blogging 100 straight days in a row. I realized those were rather lofty ambitions for a girl averaging 2-4 hours of sleep per night so I’m now just going to update as I can and maybe one day waaaaaay down the road I’ll make my goal :). Of course a blogging hiatus does not mean I went on a project hiatus. My latest endeavor was something that’s been on the “to-do-list” for quite some time: making some cute wall hangings for the impending arrival of my niece. (She’s here by the way and the cutest thing ever!) She and her big sis share a room and have super cute bird bedding so I knew I wanted to do something with a birdie and had seen something I liked in the Pottery Barn Kids catalog. Ideas are generally the only thing Pottery Barn is good for because they are typically SO ridiculously overpriced and almost anything in there can be bought somewhere else or duplicated yourself for so much cheaper. Now I’ll admit there are some things in there that are worth splurging on but certainly not their wall art. Ok, so here’s the pic from the catalog that I liked:

bird cropped small

 

It looked simple enough so I headed off to JoAnn’s and got my supplies, light pink fabric, some flannel, felt, and canvas material, wooden letters for their names, and I was ready to go. I made my bird a little more modern to match the girls bedding and I made my flowers out of tissue paper. Once I got everything cut out I just used staples, fabric glue, and hot glue, and voila my very own Pottery Barn Kids wall art was complete!

Picture1

Now if you want to get really serious about outsmarting the coniving Pottery Barn powers that be, you can do some serious do-it-yourselfing like our friend “If you can dream it, he can make it,” T-Rice. His wife had been eyein’ this adorable doll house book shelf but was not too keen on the $400 price tag.

img81m

So she put the hubby to work and some hours and some $40 later, they had this little beauty for their oldest daughter’s bedroom:

BOOKSHELF

Not too shabby eh? So do you have an amazing rip-off, er I mean “inspirational” project from a magazine or store that you’ve done? I hope that if some Pottery Barn exec reads this they remember that imitiation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Responses

  1. Wow! That’s really great. Your little birds are cuter, anyway.

  2. I LOVE those wall hangings you made for the girls! So cute! Maybe when you have some time/energy we can buy some custom art for Caroline’s room. Avery’s got two K-Stacy originals so Little sis needs to catch up!

  3. Those are SO CUTE! Since I am nowhere near as creative as you, we have a Pottery Barn Kids outlet near us that’s usually not so bad, usually like 80% off what you see in the catalogs!

  4. Thanks Graham 🙂

    Lexi, we’re definitely going to have to get something going for lil Caroline. Once ya’ll get to your new place you’ll have to email me pics so we can figure out what to do.

    Kristen, all I can say is Dave would be one unhappy camper if we lived next to a Pottery Barn Kids outlet!!

  5. Would your husband be interested in making a book case for me, I haven’t been able to find one under $100…


Leave a Reply

Categories

