Posted by: Kara | August 11, 2009

Moments that make your heart melt

So yesterday was one doosey of a day though nothing too atypical for the Brown household. After being up with baby at 9 p.m., 11 p.m., 3 a.m., 4 a.m., and 6 a.m. and starting the day officially at 6:30 a.m. my eyeballs were burning but kids were beckoning and so began our Monday. Here are a few of the highlights:

  • breakfast meltdown from Noah – all because of my heinous crime of being out of orange juice
  • diaper explosion by Reagan – I decide I’m no longer hungry for my breakfast
  • catch Noah peeing on my computer chair – bust out the Lysol all purpose cleaner early
  • take Noah to toilet to pee where he misses and saturates 4 rolls of toilet paper on toilet paper holder along with floor – add more Lysol all purpose cleaner to grocery list
  • take Reagan to doctor for 6 month check up & while trying to have conversation with doc notice a strange look on her face and realize Noah has taken off his pants – decide it’s time to start making him wear pants at home
  • within minutes of arrival home from Dr.’s office find massive puddle of pee in kitchen with Noah’s toothbrush sitting in the middle – really Noah? really?
  • attempt to nurse Reagan to sleep – plans are thwarted after Noah comes raiding into room, meat thermometer in hand ready to scourge
  • receive phone call from husband letting me know he’s got a late meeting and will be delayed – of course you will honey, of course you will
  • Dave arrives home and even with 2 adults in the house Noah manages to get into the carpet cleaner and douse himself from head to toe in white, sudsy toxins
  • leave Noah and Reagan in room together for a few seconds only to return to a crying baby with a bloody lip and a guilty looking toddler

And those were just a few of the moments of our frenzied day. So Dave gets Reagan to sleep and I’m on Noah duty helping him get his teeth brushed, jammies on, and room cleaned. We say his prayers and he asks if  I’ll stay in his room to rub his back. While my little monkey is actually laying still and I’m holding him in my arms, stroking his blond hair he grabs my arm and whispers, “Momma, I luv you so much.” And those, my friends, are the moments that make all the pee-pee cleaning, perpetual clamor, and pandemonium all completely worth it.

100_3414

I heart my little mess.

Responses

  1. You know, at first I thought when your toothbrush jumped into the toilet that it was another tragic case of toothbrush suicide. But after Noah’s toothbrush’s little pee-puddle wading incident, I’m wondering if maybe yours was just going for a swim. Seems to be a Brown-house-toothbrush trend, if you ask me….


Leave a Reply

Categories

