Posted by: Kara | August 7, 2009

Another day, another dollah’

myYearbookPhoto1964

So today’s the day, the big 2-9, wowsa. It seems like just yesterday that I was playing “I’m Just a Teenage Dirtbag” by Wheatus on repeat in my room on the eve of my 20th birthday. I figured it was the last time that I could really sing that song with the angst of an actual teen’s emotion behind it. I remember thinking how 20 seemed oh so old and that I could at least rest in the fact that I was long away from 30. My how time flies. And my what a difference a decade makes. A husband, a house, two dogs, and two kids later let’s take a look at what’s out and what’s in, in the life of an aging generation “Y’er”:

out – low rise jeans

in – official mom jeans to hold in the pooch

out – watching MTV, VH1, or “E”

in – all PBS, all the time (Hip, hip, hooray, the Super Readers saved the daaaaay)

out – dinner and a movie date followed by romantic evening stroll

in – drive thru at Mickey D’s followed by an evening of lawn mowing

out – gym memberships

in – Jazzercise

out – talking about the latest book I’m reading

in – talking about the color of my baby’s last poopie diaper

out– sleeping in till noon

in – not sleeping ever

Life may look a little different now, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I am immensely blessed and thankful for each day that God has given me. So here’s to my last year in the 20’s and hoping I make it count. And my big wish when I blew out my candles this year – a whole heck of a lot more of this:

kara toddler 3

Oh to be four again.

Responses

  1. I wish you naps and cupcakes for your birthday, m’dear.

  2. Happy Birthday. And the 30’s are not that bad. Just a little more body aches and less sleep. Enjoy your last year in your 20’s. Oh and that picture of you on the couch looks like Noah.


Leave a Reply

Categories

