Posted by: Kara | August 1, 2009

Excuses, excuses…

So my 6 month old finally decides to have a good night’s sleep, only waking twice, at 2:30 and 5:30 a.m. for a feeding (go Reagan, go Reagan, go-go, go Reagan) and what does my 2 & 1/2 year old decide to do? Wake up like every stinking 20 minutes ALL night long…grrrr. He didn’t even fall asleep until 10:30 (even though he’d been in his bed since 8:30) and around 11:15 p.m. the party began. “Mommy, I need to go pee-pee,” “Mommy, I need more ice” (he’s an ice snob like me and has trouble drinking a cup with just straight up water in it, but at 2 in the morning does it really matter dude?) “Mommy, I can’t find my bear,” and my favorite, “Mommy, whatch’a doin’?” At one point in the night he came in with one of his excuses and awoke me from a dream I was having about spanking him for not staying in his bed. In my dream though, I was so tired that I couldn’t even lift my hand to give him a little swat. So even my actual sleep was tainted with his constant waking. And now for the proof that he had a really bad night:

baby monitor

That would be Mr. Noah still sleeping in his bed at 8:50 a.m. He’s usually a 6 a.m. riser so if he’s still in bed now, you know Squirt’s got to be tired. And of course within seconds of writing that sentence he is now up and at ’em. In fact, I hear him in the background ordering my husband to “Take the baby away, take it to Momma…” Ahh, brotherly love. So I guess that’s my cue. Happy day everyone.

Responses

  1. Too funny (in an ohmygosh-I’m-so-sorry kinda way)! Every time I say “Gee, wouldn’t it be fun to go for #5?” Gus whispers one magical word in my ear: “Sleep.”

    • So, so true! Sleep deprivation has by far been the hardest thing of motherhood for me to deal with. Tantrums – bring ’em, throw up – no problem, constant chaos – learning to deal, no sleep – I become an irrational, non functioning, sorry excuse for a human.


Leave a Reply

Categories

