Posted by: Kara | July 31, 2009

Cover Your Seat

I found this amazing bench at where else, the UNT Surplus store, a few weeks ago and fell in love. I was even more in love with the price tag at get this – $10!!! The bright orange color, though kind of cool and retro, was in some nasty condition so a cushion recovering was definitely in order.

100_3346

I headed out to JoAnn’s Fabric and began browsing through all the fabrics and came across a gorgeous black and white lattice print that was in the “special order” department in the back. I took it up to the cashier to inquire about the shipping time and the price. She said I could take the small square swatch home for $5 and that if I wanted to place an order it could take up to 6 weeks. Hmmm, I thought, it’s really cute but do I want to wait that long? Then she told me, “oh, and the price is on the back.” That very special price was $45…a yard. Yikes, hello people, I only paid $10 for my bench, I wasn’t about to fork over $135 just for fabric! So my decision then became pretty easy. I put the swatch back and found an equally appealing black and white houndstooth fabric that was on sale for $7.99 a yard – much more manageable. Dave and I got to work on our first reupholstering project and were mighty pleased with the results. I had thought about painting the bench but we ended up really liking the natural looking finish on the wood so we stayed with it. Let us know what you think!

100_3674

Responses

  1. Kara, you rock!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. again…you are so creative!

  3. Is that from the GAB!!? 🙂 Nice job!

  4. Uh, I love that. You might also like to read this blog: younghouselove.com

    I am slightly obsessed with it and just love all her ideas!

  5. Gloria, I wasn’t sure if it was from the GAB or perhaps Wooten! It’s nice to have a little piece of UNT right in our living room though 🙂

  6. […] first walk in I decided we were going to need two nice sitting chairs to accompany our beauty of a bench. And so began my new pastime of chair collecting. I sort of couldn’t stop. I kept finding […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

